Orange!

When I came across a pair of bright orange jeans in a charity shop I was dazzled. And, it being a bargain store the pair were mine for just £1. It didn’t matter that they were not my size… I wasn’t going to wear them, but turn them into a boho bag.

I’d seen how to make this type of bag on YouTube. There are numerous videos available, variations on the same design. This orange denim pair of jeans were perfect. The pattern makes use of the leg section only, so I still have the waist section in my stash.

Still got some orange denim to play with!

For the bag lining I made use of the remainder of a yellow duvet cover. I wanted a good colour contrast to the orange. And, having recently bought a yellow coat it was the obvious choice.

The pattern is easy, though turning through the second handle was tricky. I’m sure next time…because I can see that this pattern might well become addictive..I might look for a different solution. Though the beauty of this design is that all the seams are on the inside, making it so neat.

Before sewing up the outer sections I added two of the jeans’ pockets. I’d sewed them to make one larger pocket.

Two pockets making one with a belt loop for a bag charm

The iron is definitely needed during construction. Settling those seams made sewing up easy. And of course a final press before top stitching around the bag handles.

Job done!
Bring on the brights!

I’m delighted with the finished bag. I’ll be looking out for other jeans, or patterned trousers for more boho options!


Leave a comment