Dressing up pirate

I love this child’s duvet cover from the retailer Next with its pattern of pirates, each side with a variation of the design. Multi-images like these are always good for turning into skirts or dresses.

Once again I used my favourite pattern. This time though because of the way the pirate figures were aligned I dispensed with the skirt pattern pieces. Instead I cut and gathered two panel widths. I also decided not to make the bodices out of the same fabric but to chose a plain fabric instead (something that I will repeat in the future I’m sure). With the red bodice dress this meant appropriating the gingham band into the finished dress. For the hem the gingham has been cut from the top of the skirt sections and sewn at the bottom. I used a contrasting ‘dotty’ fabric to make bias binding for the armholes and neckline. As you can see I didn’t make a tie belt but instead utilised an elasticated one I’d made earlier (must make one in red).

pirate dresses

For the blue pirate fabric (the quilt’s reverse side) I bought a piece of white cotton drill for the bodice section. This fabric has a lovely weight to it and is great to sew. The armholes and neckline have been edged with bias binding made from an old shirt, left over from one of my previous projects. Each dress has a zip at the back and no pockets.

The duvet dresses that I make work really well with 1950s style net petticoats (inexpensive on Amazon). Wearing this dress today I passed by a woman who remarked upon it, saying that it reminded her of her teenage years back in the 50s. ┬áLast week I was up at the London Transport Museum shop in my London Underground dress (THE perfect place to show it off). My dress was much admired by the staff. One aspect of wearing dresses like this is that they do have a nod to vintage style – and vintage style is proper dressing, not the unisex jeans and tee shirt combination. Vintage style also flatters all ages. The summer is perfect for dresses and I’d urge every woman to feel floaty and feminine in a frock like this (pirates optional!).

Leave a Reply

