Quote

It was just too good a shirt to be wasted! When my lovely boyfriend handed over a shirt that was rather too snug a fit I just loved its fabric design. It had a montage of tiny photos of punk singers in mono (or rather a blue/grey colour). But how exactly to use the fabric in a new guise?

IMG_6460

Various options ran through my head, including some kind of clothing for myself, but I knew in my heart of hearts that I had to re-sculpt it and hand it back, in a wearable form. That meant one thing – yes, boxers!

Laying out my pattern pieces revealed that there wasn’t going to be enough of the punk fabric to cover, especially as I wanted to keep the photos ‘the right way up’. An easy solution came with using a contrasting fabric to form the waistband area. You’ll see that I used a red/white dot fabric – I did try the same in blue/white, and black/white, but the red was just fab. Simple, effective, job done!

IMG_6475

And I do have a few remnants that enabled me to make this simple cross body bag (step by step instructions coming soon) so I’m happy to get my own punk piece too. 

Punk pants

Leave a Reply

