Styling Africa

 

You may have noticed that I’ve been enjoying the Fashion Cities Africa exhibition at Brighton Museum. From watching the mannequins going into the gallery to the finished exhibition with fully clothed models, video footage and soundbites. I enjoy fashion – all the more since I now wear a uniform in my day job. If you want my advice on how to re-discover your wardrobe…restrict yourself for a month to a single outfit – and at the end of that, your wardrobe will seem like a dream discovery!

I was asked to photograph the Fashion Cities Africa merchandise to provide some images for social media. So this morning I took my camera along to the  Brighton museum shop. As the museum is closed to the public on Mondays I could enjoy taking my time picking, arranging and shooting the merchandise.

P1300522.jpgP1300661AFRICA7

Thinking on my feet I was able to make use of the surroundings. Now that the museum cafe has moved to the foyer (do come along and treat yourself – you can use the cafe without paying to go into the museum itself), I made use of the tables and chairs as props for the designer bags and African print scarves.

Taking the photos is just part one of the job however, part two is done at home, weeding out the rubbish shots (I’m not a professional after all), then selecting the best to work on prior to passing them on. One the aspects of photography that I enjoy is tweaking the images and adding text – I think I am a frustrated graphic designer! My fellow Camera Club members often remark that I have a good eye when it comes to framing photographs. I put that down to my working in magazine publishing for 16 years when determining page layout was a daily task.

AFRICA10

AFRICA2P1300597P1300653.jpg

Job done, I left the museum to meet up with a friend for a lunchtime beer, not quite under African skies but sunny Brighton did its best!

Fashion Cities Africa

Fashion Cities Africa is the first major UK exhibition dedicated to contemporary African fashion. Featuring fashion from street style alongside images, sound and film evoking the drama, creativity and dynamism of these unique cities: Johannesburg / Casablanca / Nairobi Lagos.
On now until 8 January. Admission payable / members free
Open Tuesday – Sunday 10am – 5pm (closed Monday except Bank Holidays

brightonmuseums.org.uk

#FashionCitiesAfrica

 

Leave a Reply

