A pocket full of try

Making a pocket by folding lining fabric and securing with existing seamlines

Making a pocket by folding lining fabric and securing with existing seamlines

Each time I make a dress I’ve been perfecting the pockets. The dress I’m making for Goodwood Revival has got to be right. It’s been difficult this time because I’ve bought the fabric new, rather than use a second hand source. This has made me so much more cautious about cutting it rather than just getting on with it. With my duvet dresses I have no such qualms and happily cut and sew!

But I am pleased with the pockets as this time they are secured by the side and waistband seams. I’d worked on the design in my head ( no wonder I have trouble sleeping I’m too busy sewing in my head). The pocket is a folded piece of lining fabric. A slight curve is cut into the main fabric and the lining behind it, when sewn (right sides together then folding through) there isnt the need for bias binding along the opening. I’ve photographed the step by step pics here. A bit of top stitching finishes the opening edge. But there is no horizontal stitching across the dress panel.

The bodice is under construction and will feature in another blog as the dress (and accessories) are completed.

Leave a Reply

