Cupboard love

Storage under the stairs are often a glory-hole of cleaning materials, pots of paint, carrier bags and wellington boots. My two cupboards are no exception. Sorting them out became a way of avoiding more academic tasks that I should have been doing. But, to accommodate my growing addiction to jackets I had to do something! Turning the ‘pole’ the other way instantly gave me more hanging space…but also required a longer rail. Not owning a suitable length of dowel I did have a rather handy thick stick, courtesy of a previous opera production. Swiftly cut to size it did the trick..I just hope it bears the weight of my coats. But I guess can always be replaced if it snaps.

Disguised as a book case, the larger of my two understairs cupboards has had a makeover inside

Disguised as a book case, the larger of my two understairs cupboards has had a makeover inside

More space to hang my growing jacket & coat collection. A new shelf above holds smaller accessories

More space to hang my growing jacket & coat collection. A new shelf above holds smaller accessories

Simple to make, these fabric sacks hold all those pesky carrier bags ready for re-use.

Simple to make, these fabric sacks hold all those pesky carrier bags ready for re-use.

The carrier bags sacks are such a success I think that I shall replicate the idea elsewhere in the house for storing other items. It will also help use up some of my fabric stash…as that alone is creating a storage problem!

4 comments


Leave a Reply

