Hustle & bustle

Bustier

I started work on this bustle thinking that it would make an outfit for a tango ball at the Blackpool Tower ballroom. In the event I didn’t get it finished on time, and was unsure about whether it would work. At last though I have completed the outfit…the bustle and the bustier top. And I’m pretty pleased with how they’ve turned out. The bustle – easy to make – feels lovely! I think those Edwardians knew a thing or two! Rather than attach it directly to a skirt, as the pattern dictated, I’ve secured it to a belt of elastic. This means I can wear it with any skirt. The photos don’t really show the full length look, and I need to perfect my timer shots to improve the focus but hope fully you get the idea.
I will be making more bustles, certainly ones to suit the two Victorian outfits that I am putting together, and I will have a go at a steampunk look as well.

The bustle contains a small

The bustle contains a small

Subtle 'boning' and carefully made button holes

Subtle ‘boning’ and carefully made button holes

I might add straps to this top - not sure yet. It does hold up thanks to the bodice shaping.

I might add straps to this top – not sure yet. It does hold up thanks to the bodice shaping.

Leave a Reply

